The UpSlide Customization is a set of files (PowerPoint templates, Excel workbooks, configuration files...) deployed to your computer when UpSlide is installed. If new content is available, UpSlide can install it automatically.
The Shared folder path is configured in the Settings Customization's tab.
The Available content part displays the Customization files created and available.
Most common issues
I can't see anything in the Available content part
This means you don't have access to the Shared folder path. You should ask your local IT team to give you the read permissions on the folder.
The content is not being installed by UpSlide
Please follow the steps below to make sure UpSlide installs the new content:
- in the Settings/Customization tab, make sure the Shared folder path is correct and that you see the content in the Available Content part.
- close all your PPT/Excel/Word files.
- reopen only one PPT, UpSlide will start downloading all the new content automatically.
- wait until you see the notification popup.
- close the PPT document.
- reopen one PPT, you should now have the new content.
How it works
The UpSlide Customization is a set of files (PowerPoint templates, Excel workbooks, configuration files...) deployed to your computer when UpSlide is installed. Every UpSlide user has a copy of the Customization on their machine, but only an administrator can change it.
UpSlide uses a folder on your network to store the content and make it available to all users.
When an administrator makes modifications to the customization and exports it, a .UpSlide file is created in the shared folder. This file format is simply a bundle of all the customization files compressed and organized so it can be read by UpSlide.
At startup, UpSlide will check if new content is available in the shared folder. If there is, UpSlide will download it and notify the user to restart UpSlide. This new content will be installed when UpSlide starts again.
You know you are up to date when your check UpSlide Settings -> Customization area has the first content line with Status set to "Last installed".